Three MIT Professors Elected to NAE


Three MIT researchers are among the 106 new members and 23 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021. They are:

Jonathan Patrick How, Richard Cockburn Maclaurin Professor, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for contributions to decision-making and control of intelligent autonomous aerospace vehicles.

Professor Jonathan How

Marija Ilic, senior research scientist, Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems, for contributions to electric power system analysis and control.

Professor Marija Ilic

David Perreault, Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for contributions to power electronics technology and design techniques for very high-frequency energy conversion.

Professor David Perreault

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

For more, please click here.