Willsky to Receive IEEE 2019 Jack S. Kilby Medal


Dr. Alan S. Willsky (LIDS/MIT PhD, 1973), the Edwin Sibley Webster Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, has been named as the recipient of the IEEE’s 2019 Jack S. Kilby Signal Processing Medal. The award comes with the following citation: “For contributions to stochastic modeling, multi-resolution techniques, and control-signal processing synergies.” The medal will be presented at an IEEE conference in May 2019.

This award adds to Alan’s long list of distinguished accomplishments, including IEEE Fellow, member of the NAE, the 2010 Technical Achievement Award from the IEEE Signal Processing Society, and the 2013 SPS Society Award Signal Processing Society Award of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

Willsky joined the MIT faculty in 1973. He was director of MIT's Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS) from 2009 to 2014. He also served as co-director (2008-2009), acting director (2007-2008), and assistant director (1974-1981).


The Kilby medal honors Jack S. Kilby (1923-2005), an American electrical engineer and inventor who was a co-recipient of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physics for his role in developing the integrated circuit.

For more information, please click the link.